Dad the Gadget Man

Dad has always been the gadget man! He described himself as the “trend setter” with a smirk when I asked him why he purchased his first computer. My family home was first connected to the Internet in 1996. Dial-up Internet was the go. My Dad brought his first desktop PC and from there the rest is history.

I can imagine the excitement Dad would have felt purchasing his first computer. He explained to me that it “was very limited. It had Word, it had a few games and other than that, not much else.” But at the time, it was revolutionary! When you were accessing the Internet, “you had to call up and log in and when you finished, you also had to call up the Internet provider to log out”. All the effort for potentially only twenty minutes of dodgy limited and slow Internet.

The Internet providers in the 90’s did not charge you for how much Internet you used, they charged you for the time spent logged on to the net. If that was the way today, my family home would be charged 24-hours of the day as I would also imagine most families to be.

In 2008 my dad converted to Apple products, as he was “sick of bugs and viruses” on his computer. Ever since, we have very much been an Apple family. The interconnectivity of the products mean I can stay connected to everyone in my family wherever I am in the world. Even in the Southern Highlands where the National Broadband Network (NBN) is yet to reach, we are yet to encounter any problems.

Screen Shot 2015-08-25 at 9.06.36 am

The NBN is the Governments promise to all Australians that we will have “fast, reliable and affordable” Internet. It is “an Australian wide project to upgrade existing fixed line phone and Internet network Infrastructure” (NBNco.com). However as you can see the map below taken from mynbn.com, the NBN is in “remediation”. Which essentially is a bullshit cover up for, “we have not yet started”.

Screen Shot 2015-08-25 at 8.56.39 am

Regardless of the delay in NBN, our home is quite lucky in regards to Internet access. My youngest brother was having a guitar lesson over YouTube last night, my oldest brother was researching places to see in his US trip next month and my Mum was looking at a recipe over the Internet. The Internet is one crazy place for information and it is great it can reach us here in the Southern Highlands without many issues.

Screen Shot 2015-09-13 at 2.40.46 pm

Sources:

http://www.mynbn.info/map?address=5%20Birch%20Ponds%20Drive%2C%20Bundanoon%2C%20New%20South%20Wales%2C%20Australia

http://www.southernhighlandnews.com.au/story/1875289/nbn-co-rewrites-rollout-map-will-you-miss-out-on-fibre/

http://www.nbnco.com.au/about-the-nbn.html

http://ingrid.zcubes.com/zcommunity/contentfiles/blog/family-sharing-apple_1329393127

http://www.mynbn.info/map

http://www.wordstream.com/images/internet-of-things-concept-illustration

Author: abbeycubit

I am a 22 year old, currently based in Sydney, Australia. I am working in a Media Agency and am a recent University graduate. I have a love for travel, sweet potato and books. I hope you enjoy my blog xx

Leave a Reply

